Accidental Poetry

September 23, 2007

Things found in the classroom. First, an unintentional bit of free verse from a shopping list of sentences authored by an adult student:

I pull up trush [sic]
Sun raise
I received his present
Do you remember me?
Will be back soon
My daughter returned soon
I rode a house ten years ago
I save my money
I share
Shut the door
I smelled old memories

And now a nonsensical haiku forged by the removal of context. I discovered these lines written on the whiteboard in my own hand from the day before:

(internal) organs
far-infrared rays
first anniversary

Leave a Reply

