Atomic Bomb Memorial #1

August 22, 2007

I began my two week summer vacation on August 6th in Hiroshima. For those of you who don’t know, at 8:15am on August 6th, 1945 an American B-29 bomber called the Enola Gay dropped the first atomic bomb ever used as a weapon on the unsuspecting populace of Hiroshima, killing roughly 140,000 people. Every year on this day there is a Memorial Service for which thousands of people from all over the world turn out, and this year I was lucky enough to be one of them. I arrived at the peace park a little after 8am and was too late to witness the actual ceremony, but I was in time to see this march of peaceniks and pigs. This was an interesting sight to start off my day, and I think it had the effect of rattling me up a little bit and made me take the whole ordeal more seriously. It was a very somber day, but beautiful nonetheless, and as the sun went down people began floating paper lanterns inscribed with individual prayers down the river from in front of the Atomic Bomb Dome.

Leave a Reply

